|
||||
![]() ![]()
![]() ![]() ![]()
free printable worksheets |
ESL Articles ESL Billboard ESL Content Feed I recently purchased an ESL teacher placement package with an Online organization called tefl-europe.com for a teaching position with a bilingual language school in Paris, France. Is the organization tefl-europe a valid organization or a scam? They seem to be slow to process the placement contract with the school once they received my "placement package" money. Please help me find out if they are valid or a scam. Thanks. Kent I am an ESL certified teacher with experience and have passed the national ESOL PRAXIS in the United States.Posted by Admin On 05/14/2011
Ken:
I am not familiar with TEFL-Europe.com but I can say (and it is posted across this site numerous times): Never send money for the promise of employment. Regarding TEFL-Europe.com, some things strike me as odd about them. When you read their FAQs about the need of a Degree to work in Europe, they state "Not necessarily. It is recommended to have some sort of college degree - Even though it is not a requirement". Every country I know of in Europe will require a degree and a TEFL to teach their in order to meet the Visa/Work Permit requirements. In addition, the Visa/Work Permit process for EU countries is Byzantine at best so they rarely hire North Americans (non-EU passport holders) because it is so difficult to process the paperwork. You may be able to work in Europe without a degree but it will be illegally and, most likely, in a very unpleasant environment. For great information about teaching in Europe, check out a friend of mine's site called Transitions Abroad which has some GREAT information...especially about Europe: Best of Luck! Admin Posted by Sean User On 05/19/2011
They are trying to make me pay for a visa for Spain when I am already an EU resident and do not need one.
Posted by Dylan On 06/14/2011
tefl-europe is totally a scam. I only know because i too fell victim to their devious ways. hopefully you get their money back. i'm in the process of getting mine, but so far to no avail.
Posted by Jamie On 06/15/2011
I purchased the same package from tefl-eurpope.com (and I knew better!). I am not certain but I am beginning to believe it is a scam. I have asked for a refund since it is a "guaranteed placement" and have yet to get a response from them. They also could not supply me with a phone number, which makes me even more suspicious. I guess only time will tell.
Posted by Barney On 10/03/2011
Posted by Benjamin On 10/15/2011
My friend and I both got scammed from this website. I am really mad because I planned my whole year off of that and made moveable ticket purchases and wasted a bunch of money. Definitely they'll get theirs coming right back at them.
Posted by Susie On 11/09/2011
I also got scammed by these guys and feel incredibly stupid! Worst thing is that I was sent a link to their website by the university where I did my teacher training. As far as I can tell the website has been dismantled. Otherwise I'd suggest starting a Facebook group warning against these pricks.
Post AnswerUseful Links: ESL Sites TESL Sites TEFL Sites TESOL Sites |
|||
|
||||